Buddhist Basics

belly_buddha_jpegTo clear certain myths up surrounding Buddhism, let’s get one thing clear. You do not have to be a Buddhist to live a Buddhist lifestyle. How can that be you ask? Let’s take it to its simplest conception. First, the name Buddhism originates from the word ‘budhi’ that means to wake up so to speak therefore, Buddhism is the philosophy of awakening. So what does philosophy mean? It comes from two words actually. The first is ‘philo’ and that simply means love. The second word is ‘sophia’ which means wisdom. In a nutshell philosophy means love and wisdom.

Bucovery is very simple really. It is a form of counseling/life coaching/psychotherapy that helps reduce ones suffering by using wisdom from Buddhism and try to help people enter a state of balance and joy. Basically this concept believes happiness starts from an understanding of the root causes of suffering and there are paths we can take to end suffering.

I began to get it once I started to learn Buddhist Basics which are:

The Three Universal Truths
1. Everything is impermanent and changing
2. Impermanence leads to suffering, making life imperfect
3. The self is not personal and unchanging.

The Four Noble Truths
1. All life involves suffering (the Truth of Suffering)
2. Suffering is caused by desire and attachment (the Origin of Suffering)
3. Desire and attachment can be overcome (the Truth of Cessation)
4. The way to overcome them is by the Eightfold Path (the Truth of the Path).

The Eightfold Path 
1. Right View
2. Right thought or intention
3. Right speech
4. Right action
5. Right work or livelihood
6. Right effort
7. Right mindfulness
8. Right concentration

The Way of Inquiry
– One should investigate and gain knowledge on something before believing in it. Faith comes from wisdom and not from just blindly believing what has been taught by others.
– Careful introspection and investigation is needed before adhering to any teaching.
– One must be flexible with beliefs and be open that some that teachings held true may be untrue or vice versa.

The Three Jewels of Buddhism
The Buddha – Siddharta Gautama
The Dharma – The Teachings of the Buddha
The Sangha – The community of the Buddha; monks and nuns who teach Buddhism

– Law of Cause and Effect
– Good action does not negate bad actions and vice versa. What has been done will always reap it’s effect be it now or in the future.
1. Good Karma – Brought about by good thoughts and deeds
2. Bad Karma – Brought about by evil thoughts and deeds

Five Precepts
1. I will not kill or even hurt sentient beings.
2. I will not take what is not given. (I will not steal).
3. I will avoid sexual misconduct.
4. I will not talk falsely or gossip.
5. I will not partake in alcohol or any intoxicant.

Wisdom and Compassion
– Buddhism requires you to gain wisdom and understanding of life and it’s aspects.
– Wisdom requires an open mind and patience.
– Being wise does not mean being void of emotions

– Having the understanding for the suffering of others.
– Helping others to be free from suffering and pain.

Applied to help others, these simple core basic beliefs  are helpful once one gets a clear understanding. Here are a few links and videos that offer you a few concepts on how to get there.

The best things I have found on the internet that help my clients understand a little better is a Youtube channel called Three Minute Buddha and it explains most of the concepts in simple 3 minute videos.